Guest Author: Beverley Kendall & Giveaway!

One of my favorite people in romancelandia is Beverley Kendall.  Not only is she smart and talented, she’s one of the nicest people I’ve ever met.  There’s another reason why I love her – she also writes sexy, Regency-set historical romances.  Oh, and did I mention her books are sexy?

Bev’s first book, which kicked off her Elusive Lords series, was Sinful Surrender RT Book Reviews gave it 4 stars:  “In her fresh, charming debut, Kendall’s natural wit and fine voice shine through.”

And New York Times bestselling author Cathy Maxwell calls Bev’s writing “deliciously intense.”  Yum!

Bev’s second book in the Elusive Lords series is A Taste of Desire.  Take a look at her charming video, which gives you a sense of the fun that awaits you when you read this book.


Like many of us in the romance writing world, Bev has moved into the indie arena with her new novella, All’s Fair in Love & Seduction.  For those of you who have been following Bev’s Elusive Lords, this novella tells Derek and Elizabeth’s story.  I know for a fact that a lot of people have been waiting for this one, including me!

Here’s the blurb:

With her seduction she hopes to gain his affections

For Miss Elizabeth Smith, sharing her first kiss with the charming Lord Derek Creswell is nothing short of a dream come true…that is, until she is spotted by one of the most influential gossips of the ton. With scandal nipping at her heels, to avoid total social ruin, Elizabeth must present a fiancé by the end of the Season. But when the viscount proves reluctant, Elizabeth is forced to employ a seduction of a different sort…

With his seduction he is determined to ruin her

Viscount Derek Creswell believes Elizabeth set out to trap him into marriage. After all, her sister attempted the very same thing with his brother six years before. Now the delectable Miss Smith expects a betrothal and a ring, while Derek finds her ruination infinitely more appealing…

But as Derek sets out to seduce only her body, Elizabeth is intent on claiming his jaded heart.

Sounds delicious, doesn’t it?  All’s Fair in Love & Seduction is available for just $1.49 on Amazon, and a host of other e-retailers.  You can find all the handy buy links on Bev’s website, and read an excerpt.  As an added bonus, you can take a look at the first three chapters of Bev’s next book in her Elusive Lords series, An Heir of DeceptionThat book, which is Alex and Charlotte’s story, will be available in the Fall of 2011.   Can’t wait for this one!

While you’re visiting Bev’s website, there’s something else you should definitely check out – Bev’s online magazine, The Season.  It’s one of the best romance review journals on the web, and it’s packed with honest, thoughtful reviews of all the latest releases.  There are also tons of interesting features every month, including free reads, bestsellers, and links to all the places on the web to buy books.  The Season also has a blog, with daily updates and guest blogs from a huge range of wonderful romance writers.  You really need to check it out, especially since The Season will be celebrating its second anniversary this month.  Bev will be throwing a big party with lots of great prizes, including tons of books and a grand prize of an e-reader!

To celebrate the release of All’s Fair in Love & Seduction, Bev has donated a copy of the novella for a giveaway today.  Since today is August  1st – the height of summer vacation – let’s kick back a little.  Tell me where you’re going on vacation this summer, or tell if you intend to remain at home on a staycation!  One person who comments will win a copy of Bev’s fabulous novella.

Guest Author: Diana Cosby & Giveaway!

Do you love the Scottish Highlands?  Do men in kilts make your heart go pitty-pat?  Well, have I got the author for you – Diana Cosby!  But Diana’s books aren’t just your average hot- guy-in-kilt historical romances: they’re also medieval romances set during the time of Braveheart, and have a wonderful sense of that period’s intensely dramatic setting.  Diana’s current series is called The MacGruders, and her first book, His Captive, debuted to great acclaim and wonderful reviews.  


Here’s what New York Times bestselling author Cathy Maxwell had to say about it:

“Finally! At last! A bold, lusty Medieval! Diana Cosby is superbly talented. HIS CAPTIVE is the beginning of a wonderful career.”

I don’t know about you, but I love bold and lusty!

You might be interested to know that writing historical romance isn’t Diana’s first career.  Before she started putting pen to page she was a Navy Chief Meteorologist/Oceanographer, who travelled all over the world.  Now, when I was in university I was persuaded by a guidance counsellor to take meteorology as one of my core science courses.  It was one of the most difficult courses I ever took, and the results weren’t pretty.  So trust me when I tell you that Diana is one smart gal.

So how did a Navy Chief end up writing romance novels?  Well, why don’t we let Diana tell us?

Most people think of retirement as a time to relax. For me, retiring from my job as a Navy Chief Meteorologist/ Oceanographer allowed me to pursue my passion—writing romance novels. With 32 moves behind me and having traveled through many more countries, I was anxious to create characters who reflected the amazing cultures and people I’ve met over the years.  My years of living in Europe drew me to write in the medieval time frame.  After watching the movie Braveheart and with my passion for writing complex plots, I knew I had to write in this volatile medieval timeframe; hence the MacGruder brothers were born.

Diana’s passion for life shines through in her books, and her writing has garnered critical acclaim.  She was named “Accomplished Author for 2010” by Ask An Author, and her second novel, His Woman, was listed as one of the Best Romance Novels of 2010 by  Her third novel, His Conquest, remained on the Amazon historical bestseller list for 145 days straight!

 Here’s the blurb for His Conquest:


Linet Dancort will not be sold.  But that’s essentially what her brother intends to do—to trade her like so much chattel to widen his already vast scope of influence.  Linet will seize any opportunity to escape her fate—and opportunity comes in the form of a rebel prisoner locked in her brother’s dungeon, predatory and fearsome, and sentenced to hang in the morning.


Seathan MacGruder, Earl of Grey, is not unused to cheating death.  But even this legendary Scottish warrior is surprised when a beautiful Englishwoman creeps to his cell and offers him his freedom.  What Linet wants in exchange, though—safe passage to the Highlands—is a steep price to pay.  For the only thing more dangerous than the journey through embattled Scotland is the desire that smolders between these two fugitives the first time they touch . . .

Wow!  That sounds awesome, doesn’t it?

His Conquest is now in bookstore, and available on Amazon and other on-line retailers.  Diana’s next book, His Destiny, will be out in October and is now available for pre-order.  This is one you won’t want to miss!

To celebrate the upcoming release of her book, Diana will give a copy of her first book, His Captive, to one person who comments on the blog.  Hmm.  What shall we talk about today?  I know!  If you could get in Mr. Peabody’s Wayback Machine and go back in time, what period of history would you choose?